The Southwest Chapter of the Society for Ethnomusicology


Chapter Officers




2014-2015 President:

Dr. Austin Okigbo
Assistant Professor, Ethnomusicology
University of Colorado
Boulder, CO


Dr. Ana R. Alonso-Minutti
Assistant Professor, Music
University of New Mexico

Student Representative(s):

Kelsey Thibdeau
Ph.D. candidate in ethnomusicology

University of Colorado, Boulder, CO


The Joann W. Kealiinohomuku Award for the Best Student Paper Presented at the annual SEMSW chapter meeting:

for 2014 (two, tied winners)

"Garage Rock, Cultural Production,
and the Amateur Sensibility in the Tokyo Underground,"
Jose Vicente Neglia, Ph.D. candidate,
University of California-Berkeley


"Musical Humanism and the Syrian Revolution:
The Work of Malek Jandali,"
Kelsey Thibdeau, Ph.D. candidate,
University of Colorado-Boulder


2015 Annual Meeting

The SEMSW will hold its annual meeting in conjunction with the Rocky Mountain Chapters of the Society for Music Theory and Musicology at Colorado State University in Fort Collins, Colorado , March 27-28, 2015.

Special Keynote Address: Dr. Philip Bohlman, Mary Werkman DIstinguished Service Professor of Music and the Humanities at the University of Chicago.

Call for Papers

Full Program



Lodging and Transportation Info



Scrapbook of Previous Meetings

button 2014 Arizona State University, Tempe, AZ

and the Music Instrument Museum, Phoenix, AZ

button 2013 - Northern Arizona University; SEMSW Program

button 2012 - {no meeting}

button 2011 - Colorado College

button 2010 - University of Arizona

2009 - University of Colorado at Boulder

button 2008 - Utah State University, Logan, Utah

2007 - Arizona State University, Tempe, AZ

2006 - University of Denver, Denver, CO

2005 - Northern Arizona University, Flagstaff, AZ

2004 -- Since the SEM Annual Meeting took place in Tucson, AZ in November of this year, it was decided that SEM-SW chapter would not meet in 2004.

2003 - University of Arizona, Tucson, AZ

2002 - University of Colorado, Boulder.

2001 - Provo, Utah.

2000 - Tempe, AZ.

1999 - Colorado Springs

1998 - Albuquerque

1997 - Boulder

1996 - Tucson










SEM Homepage|